2013/14 | 12′ | soprano (voice), soprano saxophone, horn, trumpet, percussion, piano, & cello

Premiered & Commissioned by a very small consortium & Vox Novus January 12, 2014 Jan Hus Church New York, NY

Defeat is a humanist work manifested through feminist ideology in which the audience is invited to imagine the past experiences of the vocalist’s character. Though neither the time nor details of her story are made apparent, the music aims to reflect and embody the behavior of broken memories and invisible voices.

About Zachary Seely

Composer, Conductor, & Guitarist/Improvisor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s